I’m raising someone’s husband

I’m raising someone’s husband.

This is the thought that’s been rocking my brain for the past few weeks. It doesn’t even need to be said that every new parent is petrified of what kind of job they’re going to do at raising their children, so here’s just one new momma’s inside look. 

I grew up in a household where my parents were very good at expressing their love for each other. Never a phone call, a good bye, a hello, a good job – nothing in our household went without an “I love you.” 

But, nothing lasts forever and what I thought was written in the stars, crumbled so suddenly it sent me into a frantic sense of being that nothing can last forever. 

Now, I’ve made it a point that I will show my kids just how much I love their father. That even if they happen to see us struggle even for a micro-second that our foundation could withstand anything-we could withstand anything. And I want my children to do the same for my grand children. 

Being 21 I remember my high school experience very vividly. I was often too busy being myself to show that I cared what others thought when deep down it rocked my every thought. I had a total of two boyfriends before dating my husband the longest of which lasted 7 months when I was in 8th grade. So yes, I was a bit surprised when it only took me two tries to find what I know to be my soul mate. 

Now, my husband doesn’t have the best past either he has had more girlfriends than I can count on my hands and due to loss and heart ache he didn’t really care about anyone he hurt in the process (including 16 year old me who he asked out while he was blackout drunk then forgot about it and never mentioned it again till 3 years later.) Back then I was devasted, and now I can understand why he did it. 

Back on topic though, our son is only 6 weeks old (to the day actually 🤗🎉) but I still worry about the type of man we are going to be raising. How can a momma instill on her son that girls, young ladies, women all have a heart and that it should be nurtured and treasured because no one really understands how fragile we are. I’m not saying that my son has to be overly sensitive and walk around on egg shells with his significant other. But I will be damned if he treats any woman he is dating less than she deserves. No, not all woman are great, girls can break hearts and young ladies can use guys more often than they wipe their ass. None the less I hope my son doesn’t stoop to their level if they ever cause him any heartache. 

I hope my son loves fiercely, and without regret.

I hope my son will love God first and all else second. (Except for momma, I’m number 2) 

I hope my son will be honest and kind to any woman he meets.

I hope my son will never “go Dutch.”

I hope my son will always offer her his jacket.

I hope my son works hard for what he wants and harder for the family he’ll have.

I hope my son will never be ashamed of his significant other. 

I hope my son will never short come the way he feels for a woman. 

I hope my son will know how far a kiss or a bouquet of flowers can go.

I hope my son will never do anything without putting his all into it.

I hope my son will know that every person is fragile and that every word or action will have consequences; whether they are good or bad are up to him.

I hope my son knows just how madly in love I am with the person he is and has yet to become. 

I hope my son treats his wife as the center of his universe as his father does me. 

And I hope my son will know just how hard we prayed for God to guide him in every adventure he is going to have. 


24 thoughts on “I’m raising someone’s husband

  1. Reblogged this on SAINTSWEST and commented:
    Raising a young man in the right way has always been a chore, and the troubles facing this new generation is no exception. This is a wonderful perspective I had never truly realized until I read it here. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just beautiful!! I’m a boy mom myself, a much older model! 😉 My boys are 9 and almost 15! You summed up what is in my, and hopefully any parent’s, heart about raising our children! I believe you will raise a wonderful husband, friend and brother! ❤

    Like

  3. Hi,
    I think this is very well written. It is true you are raising someone’s husband. I am glad you are praying for your son.
    I remember praying for my own son when i was pregnant with him. I just wanted the best for him. But he died.
    You are very blessed to be able to keep your son. He’s a little miracle.
    So God bless you.
    Hannah

    Like

  4. Beautiful sentiments. So much so I am sending this in to my daughter who has two boys: 8 year old and 7 month old. You expressed so beautifully what every woman, mother and grandmother wants for the little boy(s) in their life.

    Keep blogging. You write and express yourself well. Blessings.

    Like

  5. Thank you for stopping by As Grandma Says. I’m glad to have found your blog. Sounds to me like you are on the right track for rearing beautiful children. And yes, I use the plural deliberately. It would be a pity for that boy to be the only recipient of such devoted parental love.

    Like

  6. Having children makes you really think about how you should be living. This is a great post – I am trying to think how I can raise my daughter to be the best she can be, being loved by her parents and showing so much love. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. I definitely thought about this once I had my son. I was like wow, I’m having a son, who will be someone’s husband and father one day. I thought man that is a lot of responsibility. I also thought I hope that one day someone will look at him and say he is a good man and a good father and then I will feel like my husband and I did our job. I feel he has the responsibility to teach him how to be a good man and I have the responsibility to teach him how to treat a woman. Great read. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

